Attorney Representing
Upstate New York Drivers

Here’s what ALL drivers should know about AUO charges

| May 8, 2019 | Uncategorized |

When you receive your driver’s license in any state, you are granted a privilege that may be revoked should you violate the law. The type of law you violate, and your driving history may affect the consequences associated with your charges. For example, in New York, a driver found guilty of fleeing the scene of an accident, driving under the influence, and even failing to pay child support may get their drivers’ license suspended or revoked.

Anyone caught driving with a suspended or revoked license may be charged with Aggravated Unlicensed Operation (AUO). There are three degrees of penalties associated with an AUO. Here is what you need to know:

Third-degree AUO – is a misdemeanor and the least serious of charges. This type of charge belongs to those drivers who have no other driving-related or unpaid child support issues. They are simply driving with a suspended or revoked drivers’ license.

Consequences: Fines between $200 – $500; jail-time of 30 days or fewer

Second-degree AUO – is a misdemeanor as well, however, these drivers have additional driving charges on their record such as: DWI, recent AUO conviction, multiple past suspensions, etc.

Consequences: Fines between $500 – $1,000; probation up to six months

First-degree AUO – is a felony and the most serious AUO to be charged with. First-degree AUOs are given to drivers with past AUOs on their record, DWI/DUI, more than ten suspensions, driving with permanently revoked license status, etc.

Consequences: Fines between $500 – $5,000 and definite prison time

You don’t want an AUO on your driving record period. The consequences may quickly add up when you lack criminal defense against traffic violations. You should always protect your freedom with proper legal representation. Otherwise, the law will continue to constrict your driving privileges and require more money, while limiting your personal freedom.