OpenClose Menu

View Our Full List of Courts:

Penalties for no insurance, failing to pay a ticket

To have a driver's license in New York State, there are requirements that the person must adhere to. Some are clearly known such as obeying the traffic laws, not drinking and driving and similarly obvious laws that must be followed. Others can lead to penalties that the driver might not be aware of. Being stopped and cited for a traffic violation and the aftermath of such an occurrence might not seem to be that important, but losing one's driving privileges can be an inconvenience and cause problems personally and financially. It can even lead to jail. Lodging a defense again an allegation or a misdemeanor charge for a traffic violation is imperative.

Drivers are required to have insurance when they are driving. If a person is charged and convicted of driving without insurance or letting another person drive a vehicle that is not insured can result in a revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of one year. There will be a civil penalty of $750. There does not even have to be a traffic stop for this penalty to be assessed. A car accident in which the Department of Motor Vehicles is informed that there was no insurance on the vehicle will result in the same penalties.

When there is a lapse in insurance coverage on the vehicle, the license plates and registration must be turned in to a motor vehicle office. This is independent of whether the person drives the vehicle or not. The plates and registration must be surrendered no matter what. Failure to do so can result in civil charges, a suspension of the registration and/or the driver's license.

People are also obligated to pay tickets or fines. This is true whether it is a resident of New York or not. Failing to respond to tickets on at least 20 different dates could be convicted of "aggravated failure to answer tickets." There can also be a "failure to pay fines." It is a misdemeanor charge with a penalty of at least $500, a surcharge and jail time of up to 180 days. The arrest can be made even if the person was not driving at the time.

These punishments are not minor and they can be troublesome in a personal and professional way. Just as with any charges, it is wise to have a strong legal defense. Discussing a case with an attorney who is experienced in assisting clients with traffic violations can help to settle the matter and take steps to get the charges cleared and the driver's license reinstated.

Source: dmv.ny.gov, "A Guide To Suspension & Revocation Of Driving Privileges In New York State -- pages 2," accessed on Aug. 14, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Our Main Office Location:

James M. Wagman, Attorney at Law| 11 Williams Street| Catskill, NY 12414 | Phone: 518-291-4803 | Toll Free: 866-901-8742 | Fax: 518-943-9186 | Catskill Law Office Map

Credit Cards Accepted

  • American Express
  • DiscoverCard
  • MasterCard
  • Visa
Back to Top