James M. Wagman, Attorney at Law
Call Today For A Free Initial Consultation
518-291-4803

Understanding penalties for drunk driving charges in New York


During the holidays, there is a concern for alcohol-related accidents. Due to this, most states initiate enforcement campaigns to reduce drunk driving. Drivers in New York should understand the law regarding these traffic stops as well as the potential penalties they could face. This information could help them strategize a defense against a drunk driving charge.

Being charged with a DWI could carry different consequences and the details of the alleged offense and the driver's criminal background will determine this. For example, the level of impairment could affect the type of charge the driver faces. Impairment is dependent on five conditions: the amount of alcohol consumed, the amount of food eaten prior to and during alcohol consumption, the length of time alcohol was consumes, the weight of the driver and their gender.

A DWI could result if the driver has a blood alcohol content or BAC of .08 or higher. For drivers of commercial motor vehicles, a DWI could result for a BAC of .04 or higher. The carries a fine ranging between $500 and $1,000 and could result in up to one year in jail and a license revocation of at least six months.

An aggravated DWI charge results when the driver has a BAC of .18 or higher. For the first offense, this carries a mandatory fine that ranges between $1,000 and $2,500. In addition, the driver could face one year in jail and at least one year of license revocation. For the second conviction, the penalties increase to up $5,000 in fines and up to four years in jail with at least 18 months of driver's license revocation.

While the legal limit in New York is set at .08, a driver could still face charges with their BAC below that level. For example, a driving while ability impaired by alcohol or DWAI/Alcohol could result when the driver's BAC is more than .05 but less than .07. Such a charge could result in a fine for up to $500, 15 days in jail and a driver's license suspension for 90 days.

Because the consequences of these types of drunk driving charges, drivers should be aware of their rights and legal defense options. Whether they make a defense against the charge or make a plea bargain, defendants should understand how the results could impact their life. A strong defense could help the driver reduce or dismiss the charges against them, so it is important to take action and initiate their defense in a timely manner.

Source: Dmv.ny.gov, "Penalties for alcohol or drug-related violations," accessed on Dec. 2, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Reach Out Today. Contact
James M. Wagman for a
Free Consultation.

Before trying to handle any of your legal matters alone, no matter how seemingly minor, speak with me today to learn how I can help you secure the best possible outcome. To schedule a free consultation, please call 866-901-8742 or 518-291-4803. You can also reach me via email.

Contact The Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

google map image
James M. Wagman, Attorney at Law

Catskill Office:
11 William Street
Catskill, NY 12414

Toll Free: 866-901-8742
Phone: 518-291-4803
Fax: 518-943-9186
Catskill Law Office Map

Contact Us:

Email Our Firm